CNIL-Inria Privacy Protection Award & EPIC International Privacy Award

Organisation: • •

Room: Online 4

Timing: 15:30 - 16:00 on 28 January 2021

EPIC International Privacy Award: The award is given annually to individuals outside of the United States who have shown great courage and dedication in the defense of privacy. Previous recipients: Carole Cadwalladr (2020), Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin (2020), Giovanni Buttarelli (2019), Joe McNamee (2019), Gus Hosein (2018), Artemi Rallo (2018), Alexander Dix (2017), Viviane Reding (2016), Peter Hustinx (2015), MEP Jan Philipp Albrecht (2014), Max Schrems (2013), Jennifer Stoddart (2012), MEP Sophie In’t Veld (2011), Justice Michael Kirby (2010), Prof. Stefano Rodota (2009). The jury is chaired by Alan Butler. Jury members in 2021 included: Anita Allen, Deborah Hurley, Paul de Hert, Kristina Irion, and Malavika Jayaram.

CNIL-Inria Privacy Protection Award: The CNIL-Inria Privacy Award is given annually to the authors of a computer science paper that contributes to the improvement of privacy or the protection of personal data. The paper may describe a fundamental research result, a technical innovation or provide a state of the art of a privacy related area. It must be the result of work carried out, at least in part, in a research lab in the European Union and must be published in the two years preceding the opening of the competition. The CNIL-Inria award is chaired by Nataliia Bielova (Inria) & Francois Pellegrini (CNIL).